Spain to reopen borders to European visitors from June 21st

Spain will reopen its borders to most European visitors from June 21st, 10 days earlier than previously planned, the government said on Sunday, in a further easing of coronavirus restrictions, albeit a week later than some other EU member states, Reuters reports.

Spain has sent mixed signals on when it would reopen its borders as it tries to restart its vital tourist industry, having announced several dates in recent weeks.

From June 21st - when the countyry’s state of emergency ends - it will allow the entry of visitors from the European Union and the open-border Schengen area, which also includes non-EU countries such as Switzerland and Norway, Spanish Foreign Minister Arancha Gonzalez Laya tweeted.

Visitors from outside the EU or Schengen area will be able to visit Spain from July 1st, though that will hinge on their country’s public health situation, Laya said.

British visitors would be able to travel to Spain from June 21st since Britain is still considered part of the EU, a Spanish foreign ministry source said.

“Tourism is a key sector for the economic recovery,” Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez told a news briefing. “We have been able to corner the virus in our country and on the European continent... but the risk has not disappeared.”

Sanchez said Spain’s land border with Portugal would remain closed till July 1st because Lisbon had requested it.

The European Commission recommended on Thursday that Schengen area countries, which normally have no border checks, lift controls by June 15th.

Follow EU Today on Social media:

EUToday Correspondents

EUToday Correspondents

Our team of independent correspondents, based across Europe and beyond, are at the centre of geopolitical dynamics. We are united by our commitment to free and unbiased journalism, and our devotion to the concept of true and unfettered democracy. We take our job very seriously!

Related posts