Netherlands Now Allows Restriction-Free Entry for Vaccinated Non-EU Travellers from July 1st

The Dutch Government has announced that with the introduction of the Digital COVID Passport, more relaxed rules will apply to EU travellers reaching the country from high-risk areas as well as to immunised non-EU travellers.

Such relaxation of restrictions became effective from July 1st, reports.

Through a press release, the authorities have revealed that the EU travel ban will no longer apply to arrivals from EU and non-EU safe countries and regions.

Consequently, EU and non-EU travellers entering the Netherlands from a COVID-19 low-risk country will no longer be required to present a negative test result or stay self-isolated upon their arrival, regardless of their vaccination status.

Nonetheless, they are still obliged to fill in a health declaration form if travelling through air transport.

“If you are coming from a country where the risk of contracting COVID-19 is low (a safe country), you do not need to show a negative test result. You are also not required to self-quarantine when you arrive in the Netherlands,” Government’s statement reads.

The Netherlands low-risk list includes the following non-EU/Schengen Area countries:

  • Albania
  • Australia
  • Chinese regions of Hong Kong and Macao
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Lebanon
  • New Zealand
  • North Macedonia
  • Rwanda
  • San Marino Serbia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • United States
  • Vatican City State

In addition, the same has announced that fully vaccinated non-EU/Schengen Area travellers entering the Netherlands from a high-risk country will no longer be subject to the entry ban unless they are travelling from a very high-risk area.

This means that they will be exempted from the quarantine requirement as long as they present a negative test result or a vaccination certificate. Proof of recovery from the virus is not recognised.

The ones that intend to present a negative test result should note that the Netherlands does not recognise self-test results. The country only recognises rapid antigen test results carried within 48 hours prior to arrival and PCR test results conducted within 72 hours before arrival.

Regarding the arrivals from high-risk EU countries, the Dutch authorities announced that since the country will have a fully functional travel pass recognising system from July 1st, the self-isolation requirement will no longer be effective for this group of arrivals.

The Government highlighted that EU travellers could enter the country by only showing a vaccination certificate or proof of recovery. They do not need to provide a negative test result.

Previously, the Dutch authorities announced that the country would offer free-of-charge tests to all travellers entering the country during July and August.

Follow EU Today on Social media:

EUToday Correspondents

EUToday Correspondents

Our team of independent correspondents, based across Europe and beyond, are at the centre of geopolitical dynamics. We are united by our commitment to free and unbiased journalism, and our devotion to the concept of true and unfettered democracy. We take our job very seriously!

Related posts